Spotlight on Alex Hunter – Interview with Author of the Game Over series

There’s some mystery here today, with my guest. As you may see, we don’t have a bio picture, and all I can say is that this person is really sweet and creative. We met on Twitter, and cheered each other to finish our books.

I’m truly happy to present you today to Alex Hunter, and the Game Over series.

So, let’s learn more about Alex!

Please, tell us a little about yourself.

My name is Alex Hunter. I have always lived in Wales, in the UK and I have always wanted to be a writer.
This is the first time I have finished a book from the first word to THE END.
And it is the best feeling ever – except for maybe holding my finished book in my hands.
I tried to get an agent for a couple of months and had a few come back with a ‘no’ – some don’t even bother with that!
But I found it to be quite a miserable and frustrating process that seems to take forever. I remember being so excited every time I got an email or phone call in case it was an agent getting in touch with a yes. It never was though.
In the meantime I’d stopped writing while I waiting for my ship to come in!
But in March of this year, 2012, I just decided to do it myself! With a little bit of help. I found a local editor and asked a friend who’s a graphic designer to do my covers and my illustrations. And then I got to work!

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since I was about eight. I have probably started more than a hundred books, but never finished any. I was full of good ideas but not so good on the execution.

Do you remember the first story you wrote?

I remember watching Byker Grove (A UK kid’s programme set in Newcastle about a youth club) and writing my own version. Not very well.

Can you tell us two eccentricities about yourselves?

I bite my own toenails.
And I can turn my eyelids inside out.

What was the best thing you’ve ever heard (or read) from a reader?

I wrote GAME OVER to help get my son, who is 8, to enjoy reading. When he read it and said it was brilliant that made my day

Do you have a good Indie author to recommend?

I write more than I read at the moment, trying to spend every moment writing, so my reading has taken a back seat – which is sad because I love to read.

Who inspired and/or supported you to become a writer?

I have always wanted to write because I have always enjoyed reading. I will read any writer and any genre.
My whole family supports and believes in me, which is great.

Do you have a WIP (Working in progress)? If so, can you tell us a little about it?

At the moment I am only working on GAME OVER (because I do tend to get distracted easily!). This set of four books is called The Knight’s Castle. The next four will be The Pirate’s Island and then the next will be something about aliens.
Book One is available now, Book Two is ready to go to print, Book Three is about to go to the editors – my awesome editor Chrissie Collier – and Book Four is more than half written.

What is your favorite of your books? Why?

My favourite is the first of this series, because it’s the first time I’ve seen a book through from start to finish, through editing and illustrating – thanks to my amazing illustrator and cover artist Jen Rew – to a finished book I can hold in my hand.

What is your favorite of your characters? Why?

I have two – Sam and Corey because they are named after my sons!

Do you like to interact online? What’s your favorite social media?

I’m getting better at it!
Twitter is my favourite. It annoys me that my responses can only be so long, but the help that I have received – like this interview, for example – are priceless. If I ask about reviewers or formatting or marketing someone on there has the answer.

How do you feel about marketing your books?

This is a funny one.
When I dreamed of being a writer I always assumed I would have a traditional publisher and wouldn’t have to think about this, but I am finding that I quite enjoy the challenge of getting my book out there.
At the moment twitter and face book are my friends!
But I have also been invited to speak in schools and plan to ask if I can do the same in libraries.
I have made bumper stickers and posters to place in children’s play centres. I’m trying to think where parents go so that I can attack them with some form of advertising.
It’s the hardest bit of self publishing – and I’m sure others would agree.

Please, give us all your links – where can your readers find you and your books?

Okay so my website is www.gameoverbooks.com and all the info needed is on there!

On Amazon: http://amzn.to/T7CZ7v

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Alex!

(May I say I’m really impressed and a little disturbed by your eccentricities? O.O)

And readers, don’t go anywhere! Stay tuned for next interview.

  • If you’re an author and want to be in my spotlight, contact me!
11 responses to “Spotlight on Alex Hunter – Interview with Author of the Game Over series

  1. Your publishing story is such a familiar one Alex. It’s nice to see another Welshman out there writing though. We should swap moans sometime.
    The interview was excellent as always Renata, since you put us all at our ease. Very best of luck with the series Alex. If you want another interview at any time let me know. I may not be up to Renata’s standards but we may show you to different people.
    Hugs both.

    • Hi David,
      I’m actually a Welsh woman, though i’m, pleased that the mystery worked – I’m trying to be a little bit unfathomable!
      Renata was awesome for allowing me to tell her a bit about myself and I would be over the moon if you would allow me to do the same on your blog!
      Renata has emailed me your email so I will email you mine and leave it up to you! Thank you so much!
      Alex

  2. Pingback: Spotlight on Amanda Green – Interview with Author of ‘My Alien Self: My Journey Back to Me’ | Renata F. Barcelos' fiction

  3. Pingback: Spotlight on Marlin Williams – Interview with Author of ‘The Attic Piranhas’ | Renata F. Barcelos' fiction

  4. Pingback: Spotlight on Yvvette Edwards – Interview with Author of ‘A Cupboard Full of Coats’ | Renata F. Barcelos' fiction

  5. Pingback: Spotlight on John Nardizzi – Interview with Author of ‘Telegraph Hill’ | Renata F. Barcelos' fiction

  6. Pingback: Spotlight on Scott Cairns – Interview with Author of ‘Silver’ | Renata F. Barcelos' fiction

Leave a Reply

